Skip to content
Tags

Four Rings

July 10, 2012

I called your house today expecting to hear your voice after four rings

You aren’t there.  Can’t be there.  And yet, I can pretend you are

When I call

Four rings and there you are

Alive

You regret you can’t take my call.   You ask me to leave a message

And then you thank me

I called your house today desperate to hear your voice after four rings

You aren’t there.  Can’t be there.  You were taken from us by an unthinkable evil

And we are left behind trying to remember your smile

Your voice

Desolate

And now I don’t even have that

One ring….two….three….four….five…..six….

Nothing

Only the thrumming of my heart in my ears and a new sorrow pounding my chest

I try to swallow, my throat constricting

What hope remains takes refuge in the shadows

And is lost to me

Seven….eight…..nine……

From → Poetry

One Comment
  1. Chilling and love the personal moment at the end. Nice one.

Leave a Reply

