Skip to content

The Unwelcome Guest

July 25, 2012

Who is this unwelcome guest who hides behind my eyes
clouds my vision
and whispers words that only I can hear

He has made my heart his footrest
my soul his ashtray
and he shows no signs of leaving

I feed him alcohol to quiet him
and some mornings he slumbers
while I lie perfectly still

At times I feel as though I am falling into myself
there is no foothold, no hand reaching to save me
the greatest pain of all

Who is this unwelcome guest who hides behind my eyes
reminding me of my loss
every day, each moment

What do you do when your hero dies
when evil takes from what you hold most precious
when nothing else remains

Sleep a while longer
Slumber behind my eyes
Give me rest, I pray thee, give me rest

From → Poetry

2 Comments
  1. This is wonderful writing Noah .. the unwelcome guest… I think we all have some variation of this ‘guest’ within us … it’s about the awareness… the acceptance… and ultimately disempowering him/her. Very much appreciated your work here…. ~Robyn

  2. Thanks Robyn!

Leave a Reply

