Skip to content

Clarity

November 6, 2012

Amazing.

How clear the world becomes

as the ice clinks

and the bourbon sinks

revives and fuels

my molecules

and makes me sing

of lighter things

like rhyme and verse

joy and mirth

of heaven and earth

of joy restored

and life reformed

shadows dispelled

darkness repelled

a song re-sung

a hope re-strung.

Amazing.

How clear the world becomes

as the ice clinks

and the bourbon sinks.

What do you think of me now?

Now that you see me in the harsh light of day.

Shadows lifted.

Unable to hide.

You thought I was brave.

See now.

See.

How clear the world becomes

as the ice clinks

and the bourbon sinks.

My tears.

Words caught in my throat.

Breathe.

Hope swallowed.

What do you think of me now?

My brave front

my facade.

My…….  none of it mine.

What do you think of me now?

Words caught in my throat.

Unable to hide.

 

From → Flash Fiction, Poetry

5 Comments
  1. This is so easy for me to relate to – and yet how many times does a gentle, hopeful beginning lead to such a raw, brutally honest revelation…?

  2. I used to think it made things clear. After 35 years of it I don’t think so anymore. I had a moment of clarity.

  3. Gotta work it through and I think BETTER of you now. We need those times when we blow out the cobwebs and face truth square in the face.

  4. I particularly love this one. “Revives and fuels my molecules” = glorious rhyme and rhythm. And “my….none of it mine” is poweful and scratching at the real skin of the thing. The danger of alcohol isn’t that it fails to soothe; it’s that for some people – for those who can relinquish self-control to it – it succeeds too well. It’s a mask that you find far more interesting at parties and among friends than the real you underneath. And the fear is that they may prefer the mask too.

Leave a Reply

