Skip to content

Wanting More

November 17, 2012

I grow weary of this superficial life

Hour upon hour of pursuing the dreams of others

Fueling the engines of greed with my unquestioning service

I want to touch the face of the Divine

To be held in the firm grip of the Eternal

To stand with you in the glowing light of the Creator

To support, encourage, and challenge

To feed, shelter, and educate

To bind your wounds and hold you up when you can’t stand on your own

And there are days when I need the same.

To marvel in wonder as the stars travel the sky

To pause…..to be silent….to watch my breath rise in the crisp night air

Feel my feet planted firmly on the ground

Feel the rumbling of worship vibrating from the very rocks

Cries from creation to Creator that cannot be silenced

Not even by our daily pursuit of vacant things

Trappings that provide us no comfort in the cold final days.

I want to touch the face of the Divine

To be held in the firm grip of the Eternal

To stand with you in the glowing light of the Creator

From → Poetry, Short Fiction

8 Comments
  1. Beautiful. And you will. All so well put.

  2. “Not even by our daily pursuit of vacant things

    Trappings that provide us no comfort in the cold final day”

    I suppose this is the great truth upon which religion is founded. But also there is something else provided by them wherein the final day may not be cold or final.

  3. “To pause…..to be silent….to watch my breath rise in the crisp night air”
    You gave me a tear, bro.

  4. I was driving home from work the other evening, looking ahead and the road poured out in front of me for mile after mile as it ran to the thin line of horizon sitting beneath a blue and white sky, and I literally lifted my right hand to the heavens as I drove and said this aloud, “I want to touch the face of the Divine” with an intense longing that physically hurt. This frenetic busyness, the building and tearing down of empires – they are as Solomon lamented “vanity.”

  5. You know a poem is great when you HAVE TO read it again and again. I have read yours several times. Great poem and I relate.

Leave a Reply

