Skip to content

The Search

December 24, 2012

On this crisp, quiet Winter night
The sky a sea of cobalt blue
Pines bathed in moon’s borrowed light
Bare feet, frosted grass where lilies grew

Diamonds scattered overhead
A vail holding back the dawn
Heartbeats whisper words unsaid
Where dreams and fears are drawn

I move among the evergreens
Your shadow just ahead of me
Through fields, woodlands, winding streams
Creation silent, listening, watching

I climb the rocky places
I search the depths of the sea
I plead an angel’s graces
Unseen, unknown, unreached

To the earth’s end I wander
Beneath surface and above sky
Through wind and voiceless thunder
Until at last I surrender goodbye

From → Poetry

9 Comments
  1. So, I’m a little bit jealous of the ease with which you seem to write in form! I can’t seem to get the hang of writing in iambs!

  2. Heartfelt and dreamy and grand dude.

  3. I’m curious: is “pines bathed in moon’s borrowed light” telling me that the pines borrowed the light, or that the moon borrowed the light? I’ve always enjoyed the idea that a poet may venture down the path that the moon does, in fact, borrow it’s light.

    • Hey man. The moon borrows light from the sun and the pines are bathed in the gentle glow. Hope you have a great Christmas.

      • Thank you. Best wishes to you and yours for Christmas! And I love your writing – keep up the great work; this poem was beautiful, moving, thoughtful, and thought provoking. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Thanks for the mention!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 10 Reasons Why I Love Paleo Holidays! | Urban Paleo Chef

Leave a Reply

