Skip to content

Unbound

July 11, 2013

Come
Come and gather
Gather the string
For I am unravelling
My life spooling away
A thin thread
Stained and worn
And piling at my feet

Gather me up
Into your arms
Loops of laughter
Among weary-worn days
Some knotted together
To hold them tight
Until at last
They release

I can feel them
The days
As I come undone
And they fall
There is neither peace
Nor fear
Only regret
That I don’t feel Your light

And yet
Hope delights in dark’s reproach
For it knows we are held safe
And cannot be taken
By powers of the air
Or footsteps beneath the earth
Echoes from depths eternal
Roaring like a lion

Come
Come and gather
Gather the string
For I am unravelling
My life spooling away
Loops of laughter
Among weary-worn days
Piling at my feet

From → Fiction, Poetry

6 Comments
  1. kwicksand permalink

    Very powerfully writen

  2. Set this to music. It’s very lyrical and wants to be a song, I think.

  3. Great metaphor! Reminds me of Bjork’s song Unravel.

  4. Quite impressive! I particularly love the passage:
    I can feel them
    The days
    As I come undone
    And they fall
    There is neither peace
    Nor fear
    Only regret
    That I don’t feel Your light

Leave a Reply

